Research and design strategies:

Exploratory

  • no conclusive answers
  • seeks to understand a subject
  • helps to guide your further research and development
  • lays groundwork for future study
  • helps to define ideas
  • leaves room for further research
  • general understanding of subject area

Conclusive

  • descriptive or causal
  • used to verify insights and take action
  • quantitative
  • aims to provide conclusive findings
  • specific

Exploratory research examples:

  • secondary research
  • qualitative interviews
  • case studies
  • document / media analysis
  • focus groups
  • feedback
  • workshops
  • experiments

Conclusive research examples:

  • descriptive
  • case studies (asking what/how/why)
  • casual (explanatory)

Research methods:

  • observation
  • case studies
  • document / media analysis
  • experiments
  • interviews
  • focus groups
  • surveys
  • questionnaires
  • audience profiles

Task 1:

  • define your project and background
  • produce a short review of what you know about your subject
  • identify key area of where you need to develop your knowledge
  • select suitable research methods and design research activities to be compared this week
  • undertake research activities
  • interpret research data
  • organise and express your ideas
  • plan further research

primary research:

Defining my project

My project is going to be a short film based around the idea of moments, portraying the significance of moments in life, how both small and profound moments can shape our experiences and the importance of capturing moments through photography. I will use a voice-over narration to project these thoughts along with a variety of different camera angles and shots of people experiencing different moments that will compliment the audio. Through doing this I hope to capture the audience by allowing them to think about moments in their own life and evoking them to think deeper about the message being conveyed. I will also experiment with editing through using online clips of famous moments in history  to give my film a wider range of moments for my audience to think about.

Project background

This idea is important to me as I have recently come to realise the importance of small moments and how they impact our lives, even if they may seem insignificant at the time. Along with this I feel that the profound moments we experience and monuments moments in history should also be appreciated and captured if possible. I came up with this idea through my love for photography and wanted to capture moments in life so that they can be remembered and appreciated.

Subject Review

Through carrying out my literature review and design research I have already gathered a good amount of knowledge on my subject area and the concept of moments.

Primary Research I plan on conducting:

Questionnaire asking my target audience questions regarding moments in their own life. This will allow me to give me an idea of moments that stand out to my audience and ideas of what I can include in my film. I will ask people in my class as this is the age range my film will be aimed at.

Complete pre-production paper work including a health and safety assessment.

Personally looking through a friend’s memory box to see which moments she has found significant and what she has kept onto that represents these moments

Analyse short documentary style film to see what has worked well for them and how this can influence my film

Observe different locations around the area I live to see which locations would be suitable for filming in: Places I could observe could include: the beach, my house and a local field.

Experiment with different shot types I will be suing to ensure they are effective in portraying each clip

Complete script for voice-over so I am clear about what I am portraying. I will need to complete secondary online research on the concept of moments before I feel confident in producing my script.

Audio testing to find out which microphone would be most affective in recording a voice-over. I can test different microphones the college can provide me with such as a shotgun mic and a lapel mic.

The Research

Questionnaire

One way of producing primary research could be through creating a questionnaire asking people I know what moments in life they would consider to be profound. Contrasting this I could also create a questionnaire asking my audience to think about small moments in life that they often look past. This would allow me to include moments in my film that my audience feel a connection to and can relate to while watching.

Questionnaire Example:

If I was to ask you to think of a memory of something you have experienced big or small what would first come to mind?

Do you think every moment you experience plays a significant part in your life?

On a scale of 1-10, how important is it for you to capture moments through photography?

                               1     2     3    4    5    6    7    8   9   10

On a scale of 1-10, how much do you feel that you appreciate all the moments in life, even the smaller ones?

                             1     2     3    4    5    6    7    8   9   10

Which moments that you have yet to experience do you think will become memorable in your future?

Are there any famous moments in history that stand out to you?

Please detail below your age and gender:

Age:

Gender:

Questionnaire Results:

I decided to carry out a questionnaire in order to gain a wide range of results based on the opinions of 16-20 year olds and their personal thoughts on moments. I did this in hope of finding out answers to a variety of questions such as how much people feel they appreciate moments. Through asking my audience to think of moments in their own lives I was able to gain inspiration on moments that could be turned into scenes as part of my film. One example is that one of my participants answered in their questionnaire to the question regarding ant moment that comes to mind was them adopting their dog. I found this is something that I could easily use as part of the film and therefore decided to create a scene around this idea as part of the film.

The overall consensus on the question regarding whether people believe they appreciate all moments in life was around 5 on a scale of 1-10, suggesting my audience are fairly appreciative of moments, however shows me that my film may have an impact on their views after watching and audience members that selected between 1-5 may me more inclined to think about moments after watching. From this I concluded that the overall question I am asking my audience to think about is not in fact something they have necessarily considered before, therefore giving my film meaning. If from my results I had found that most of my audience already appreciated moments I may have needed to reconsider the message I am trying to convey, however the questionnaire instead confirmed the fact that not all of my target audience value each moment in their life.

Through asking people to think of famous moments in history this has also provided me with a variety of ideas for my film. For example more than 2 of my participants said that Obama becoming president and Martin Luther King’s speech were moments that came to mind. From both my online research and personal thoughts these were also moments seen to be significant for this generate the questionnaire results confirmed that these were clips I wanted to use as part of my film. This area of my questionnaire was definitely effective and I feel happy with the research I have done into the area of famous moments in history.

The majority of my participants also answered that they do think the moments they experiences play a significant part in their lives, even if they do not consciously appreciate them which allows me to believe they will enjoy my film and it will evoke them to think about moments in their own lives. I will apply this research to my final film through using scenes of moments my participants found significant in their life such as adopting a dog. I will also base my voice-over narration on appreciating moments as this is something my audience doesn’t always do. Lastly I will include clips of both Obama being elected and Martin Luther King’s speech as I now know this is something my audience sees as significant moments in history.

meta-chart

Meta-chart.com. (2017). Create, customize and download/share – Pie, Bar, Double Bar, Spline, Area Charts and more with our free suite! Meta-Chart.com.

Observational Research:

As part of my primary research regarding the significance of moments, a friend of mine allowed me to look through a memory box she had created including different pieces of memorabilia she has collected from a variety of moments in her life. Through doing this I was able to see which moments she found significant in her life and has given me inspiration on some moments that I could include in my life. What I found in the box included:

  • Disneyland ticket
  • Ticket from first concert
  • Badge from 18th birthday
  • Pictures from childhood
  • Friendship bracelet
  • Favourite childhood toy
  • Lucky charm for exams
  • Wedding invitation

Observation Results

I carried out this research in order to see which moments someone of my target audience (Age 19) finds significant in their life. I felt through carrying this out it would help me when deciding which scenes should be a part of the film. Overall the research was successful and I was able to gain knowledge on significant events people of my audience would have experienced and can relate to. The wedding invitation found in the box gave the idea to include wedding photos as part of the film as going to a wedding is a moment that would be remembered. The concert ticket also gave me inspiration to film a clip of a concert as this could also be seen as a significant moment in a young person’s life and I will be going to a concert myself around the time I will be filming. The childhood toy in the box made me think into using video clips of my own childhood in the film to add a personal aspect and if I am able to find any I may use them in order to depict childhood moments in the film. I will apply my finding to my project through using the memorabilia found and base scenes in my film around this, for example as I have previously said I will include a scene of wedding photos as I have found weddings are something that is found to be a significant moment.

Microphone Testing

Conclusion

I decided to carry out an audio task to test three different microphones on their sound quality in different location. I did this in order to gather information on which microphone would be most appropriate and effective to use when recording my audio voice-over for my short film. The microphones I tested included a dynamic microphone, lapel microphone and shotgun microphone. Overall from doing this task I have found that the shotgun microphone will give a much clearer sound quality, however it does pick up other ambient sounds. This means that if I were to use this microphone I would need to ensure the room I was recording in would be completely silent with no external noise. It is clear from the audio that the shotgun microphone does not work well in an open environment , however it does project the sound of the subjects voice well and as I want my voice-over to have a clear sound and be heard clearly by my audience I feel this would be an effective microphone to use.

I found from the test that the lapel microphone worked well in the busier environments as it doesn’t pick up much external sound and being as its placed so closely to the subjects mouth this is the main sound that is picked up. If I had to record my voice-over in college the lapel microphone may be an appropriate one to use as it would pick up less ambient sounds, however as I have the time I will aim to film the audio in a quiet place such as my house, therefore allowing me to use a shot gun microphone. As I have said I will apply the overall research to my project through using  a shot gun microphone to record my voice-over narration as from carrying out the research I have found that this will give me the best possible quality. research showed me this would have the best quality.

Script Writing

I decided a useful piece of primary research to carry out would be completing a draft of the script I will be using for my voice-over. Through producing this it will allow me to have a clearer vision of my film so that when it comes to creating my storyboard I will be able to base the arrangements of the scenes around the voice-over, therefore building a storyline and narrative that makes sense. The script is ultimately my own thoughts on moments as this is what I wanted to portray in the film and allow my audience to hear. I did however carry out secondary research when writing the script to ensure I included all the details that I wanted to. this will help towards my extended project as I have completed this already it will give me more time for filming as I will be able to start quicker. it also allows me to have a basis for my film and when pitching my idea to the board I will have clear talking points and themes to show them through referring to my script.

Final draft for my voice-over script:

“Everything we experience in life is a moment and every moment we have experienced has lead us to where we are today.

The profound moments in life are often the ones that tend to stand out.

These moments play a major part in our lives and can impact our futures immensely.

These are the kinds of events that you’ll think about for years to come, and while these make us who we are, through this sometimes we forget to appreciate the smaller moments in life.

So many of us rush through life and let responsibilities take control, meaning we forget to stop and take in the moments we perceive to be mundane.

We underestimate the significance of these seemingly insignificant moments, however these play a major contribution to our overall happiness and every single moment we experience can help to shape our lives.

I think this is one reason why I’ve always found it important to take photos. To have something to look back on and help to keep the moments alive, while giving us the opportunity to share memories, meaning these moments can be appreciated by others.

Through photography we have also been able to capture the truly significant moments.

Moments that have had an immense impact on the world and its progression.

Moments that have brought people together.

This is why it’s so important to appreciate everything.

So many significant things all stem from one moment. One look, one encounter, one decision.

It’s scary to think about how one moment has the power to change your life forever, but it’s even scarier to think about how we can let so many moments go past without taking them in.”

Harvard Referencing

Meta-chart.com. (2017). Create, customize and download/share – Pie, Bar, Double Bar, Spline, Area Charts and more with our free suite! Meta-Chart.com. [online] Available at: https://www.meta-chart.com/ [Accessed 5 Jun. 2017].

